Accrington Stanley FC

Believed to have come into existence in 1892 as Stanley Villa and changed its name to Accrington Stanley in 1893. Accrington Stanley were founder members of the old Third Division (North) in 1921. They resigned from the League in March 1962 having been unable to complete their fixtures and the club went out of business in 1966. A new Accrington Stanley FC were formed in 1968.


Football League
1923/24 (3N) W 5-1 L 0-1


FA Cup
1910/11 (1) Home W 2-0


Associated with both clubs

Tom Allen, John Aspin, Tony Bond, Wilf Chadwick, Walter Cressy, Stan Fazackerley, Walter Gummery, Henry Howell, Ted Ivill, Fred Keetley, Albert Latham, Fred Marsden, Ron Morgan, Doug Roberts, James Spray, Alf Tootill, Pongo Waring, Walter Weaver and Billy Wrigglesworth.