Bishop Auckland FC

Formed in 1886 as Auckland Town, the ‘Bishops’ are one of the most famous amateur clubs and most success sides. They have won the FA Amatuer Cup on ten occasions, been runners-up on eight and have been Northern League champions nineteen times. They first entered the FA Cup in 1889/90 and first reached the first round proper in 1905-06, were they met Wolves. The match on 13 January 1906 saw Wolves run out comfortable winners with goals from Jack Pedley after twenty-two minutes and Jack Smith a minute later, Albert Baynham sealed victory ten minutes from time. Bishop Auckland have since beaten League clubs three times in the FA Cup, in 1954/55 they beat Crystal Palace and Ipswich Town before losing to York City and finally Tranmere Rovers in 1957.

FA Cup
1905-06 (1) Away W 3-0
Associated with both clubs

Bill Barron, Mick Gooding, Billy Shergold, Jack Shield, Dave Wintersgill.