Doncaster Rovers FC

Formed in 1879 Doncaster Rovers were elected to the Football League in 1902. They failed to gain re-election in 1903 and 1905, but were then elected to the Third Division (North) in 1923. They have been champions of the Third Division (North) twice in 1935 and 1947, Fourth Division champions 1966 and 1969 and champions of the Third Division in 2004. Rovers were relegated from the Football League in 1998, but after winning two Nationwide Conference Cups in 1999 and 2000 won back their Football League status though their play-off success in 2003. In 2007 Doncaster won the Johnstones Paints Trophy at the Millennium Stadium by beating Bristol Rovers. In winning the Third Division (North) in 1946/47 Doncaster won an amazing 42 League matches a Football League record that still stands today. The first meeting between Wolves and Doncaster Rovers came at Molineux on 9 February 1924 and Wolves took the points thanks to a Stan Fazackerley sixty-third minute effort. The return at Belle Vue on 15 March 1924 saw Wolves complete the double thanks to a double strike from Tom Phillipson on eighteen and eighty-seven minutes. The game was watched by a crowd of 7,220 and at the time was a record for Belle Vue. Rovers were next at Molineux on 12 October 1985 and went away with all three points thanks to a second-half, four minute brace from Douglas. Wolves had taken a eighteen minute lead through Andy King, his last goal for Wolves. The return saw Wolves again come away with a victory, this time thanks to a great 75th minute effort from Campbell Chapman.

Football League
1923/24 (3N) W 1-0 W 2-0
1985/86 (3) L 1-2 W 1-0
2008/09 (C) W 1-0 W 1-0
FA Cup
2010/11 (3) Away D 2-2
(R) Home W 5-1

Also see Reserves

Also see Youth

Associated with both clubs

Kevin Ashley, Mark Atkins, Billy Barraclough, Kyle Bennett, George Berry, Paul Birch, Joe Bonson, Colin Booth, Jan Budtz, Stan Burton, Stephen Bywater, Brian Caswell, Peter Clark, Nicky Clarke, Sammy Clingan, Sammy Chung, Mike Connolly, Terry Cooper, Harry Crump, Harry Davies, Paul Durrant, Darren Ferguson, Ron Flowers, George Friend, Billy Gold, Don Goodman, Mark Hine, Bill Holmes, Ernie Hunt, Carl Ikeme, Fred Keetley, James Kelly, George Laking, Michael McIndoe, John Melligan, David Miller, Ian Miller, Ron Morgan, John Muir, Steve Piearce, Keith Pritchett, Mark Rankine, Darren Roberts, Tommy Rowe, Dean Saunders, Jason Shackell, Alf Somerfield, Colin Taylor, Paul Todd, Andy Turner, Stan Walker, David Wheater, Tom Wildsmith, Mike Williamson, Barrie Wood, Jermaine Wright.