Newport County FC (1)

Newport County were formed in 1912 and joined the Football League in 1919. The club lost their League status in 1988 and folded in 1989. AFC Newport ‘The Exiles’ were formed in 1989.

Football League
1985/86 (3) L 1-2 L 1-3
1987/88 (4) W 2-1 W 3-1
War Years
1945/46 (FLS) W 5-2 W 3-1
Associated with both clubs

Walter Akers, Joe Bonson, Paul Bradshaw, Arthur Brooks, Fred Chadwick, Don Cock, Ted Collins, Vic Fox, Ernie Hackett, Mark Kendall, Billy Lucas, Alex McIntosh, Steve Mardenborough, Ted Martin, Matthew O’Mahoney, Darren Peacock, Cyril Pearce, Fred Pincott, Fred Price, Tom Pritchard, Frank Rawcliffe, Billy Shergold, George Smith, Jack Smith, Nigel Vaughan, Albert Wardell, Len Weare ‘jnr’, Reg Weaver, Joe Wilson, Tom Wood, Bobby Woodruff, Harry Wright.