1941/42 War Competition

First Team Overall First Team Appearances & Scorers First Team Tables Reserves

President: Sir Charles Mander.

Directors: B Matthews (Chairman), RH Archer, JS Baker, J Evans, AH Oakley, JT Howley (Assistant Secretary).
Secretary Manager: Major Frank Buckley.
Trainers: Jack Davies.

Playing Staff: Jim Alderton, F Arnold, Thomas Ashbridge, Derek Ashton, William Aston, Arthur Bainbridge, Stanley Ball, Harry Barratt, Billy Baxter, Dennis Beesley, Richard Betts, Roy Bicknell, Donald Bilton, Luke Black, Stanley Booth, Frank Broome, Henry Brown, Thomas Brown, Walter Brown, Thomas Burden, Cyril Burton, Robert Carr, Raymond Carter, Sydney Cartwright, Douglas Caunt, Francis Christopher, Robert Christopher, G Clark, George Clarke, Sid Clewlew, Jeffrey Coley, Collins, Joseph Cooper, Coulson, Alf Crook, Billy Crook, J Crump, Stanley Cullis, George Curtis, Douglas Darby, Wilfred D’Arcy, Fred Davenport, Ken Davies, Percy Dawes, Donald, Dickie Dorsett, Jack Dowen, John Dunningham, Ted Elliott, E Ellis, Ronald Facer, Raymond Fagen, Joseph Foster, Robert Fotheringhan, Tom Galley, Gandy, Joe Gardiner, George Garnham, Charles Goddard, Raymond Goddard, Arthur Goldthorpe, Arthur Grainger, Thomas Grave, Arthur Green, James Greenaway, Richard Greenaway, Thomas Griffiths, Walter Griffiths, Guy, Arthur Hadley, Mervyn Hambly, John Hardisty, John Harris, William Higgins, Hill, Reg Hipkin, Roy Hobson, Dennis Hodgkiss, John Hogan, Leonard Houghton, Howard, Richard Hughes, George Humphries, A James, Ronald James, Alan Jenkinson, David Johnstone, Charles Jones, David Jones, Ivor Jones, Lawrence Kelly, Michael Kelly, John Kerigan, Bobby King, Harold King, Reginald Kirkham, Reginald Lambley, Thomas Larkin, Arthur Lees, Joseph Lees, J Leitch, Edward Levett, William Light, Teddy Maguire, Manship, Marsen, R Marsh, John Marshall, Thomas Martin, Gerry McAloon, Joe McCormack, Jack McDonald, Thomas McGuinness, Alexander McIntosh, Thomas McIntosh, Doug McMahon, Michael McNally, Kenneth Micah, James Milne, Mobson, John Morby, Kenneth Morgan, Ron Morgan, Bill Morris, Jimmy Mullen, John Murray, Jack Musk, Charles Norton, Joseph Noon, Frank O’Donnell, Harold Parker, William Parker, John Parr, Pearce, Eric Pell, Sid Plunkett, Edward Pope, Porsehouse, Price, Roy Pritchard, Edward Ransom, Frank Rawcliffe, Micky Reid, Oliver Reynolds, William Rhoden, Douglas Roberts, Stanley Roberts, Eric Robinson, John Robinson, Walter Robinson, Leslie Rotherham, Peter Roughsedge, Jack Rowley, Rowley, Rushton, Leonard Sagar, John Sanderson, Alex Scott, Charles Shepherd, Bill Shorthouse, Cyril Sidlow, Barney Singleton, Billy Skidmore, Jeffrey Smart, Leonard Smart, Arthur Smith, Jack Smith, Dennis Smith, Les Smith, Richard Smith, Walter Smith, Kenneth Sollom, Alf Somerfield, Peter Spacey, Terry Springthorpe, Alan Steen, Ernie Stevenson, Bazil Stones, William Sykes, Albert Tame, Frank Taylor, John Taylor, T Taylor, William Thomas, Dennis Thornhill, Alonzo Thornton, Brian Timms, Joseph Tinney, William Tommy, Reginald Torah, Cyril Trigg, Turnbull, Ben Turner, Leonard Turner, Vinall, Donald Walker, Henry Walters, John Wardle, Raymond Washbrook, Harry Waugh, Charles Webb, Dennis Westcott, William Wheatley, Edward Williams, Arnold Wilson, Terry Wood, Percy Worthington, Ray Wright, Reginald Wright, Billy Wright, Ronald Yates, Jasper Yeuell.

Club Finances: At the end of the season it is announced loses of £979 0s 2d.

Club Return: Major Buckley gave the reason why the club returned to competitive football. He said ‘we do not feel competitive football should be played during a world crisis. We have been dragooned into it for this reason. We have been told very plainly, perhaps not in so many words that unless we compete in league football, we may not be able to retain our young players. We have more young amateurs than another team in the country. The future of the club lies with them.


1) First Championship ran until 25 December.
2) League Cup Qualifying ran 27 December to 28 March.
3) Second Championship ran 27 December to 30 May. Average points calculated on 23 matches and only clubs playing 18 matches qualified for the championship.



22 (H) Pre Season Practice Match Details
30 (a) Bristol City L 2-4 Details


6 (H) Bristol City L 1-2 Details
13 (a) Birmingham L 0-4 Details [Friendly]
20 (H) Birmingham L 2-4 Details [Friendly]
27 (a) Leicester City L 0-2 Details


2 (H) Services Match Details
4 (H) Leicester City D 0-0 Details
11 (H) Cardiff City L 0-3 Details
18 (a) Cardiff City L 0-2 Details
25 (H) Walsall W 1-0 Details


1 (a) Walsall L 1-4 Details
8 (H) West Bromwich Albion L 2-8 Details
15 (a) West Bromwich Albion L 3-5 Details
22 (a) Northampton Town W 2-1 Details
29 (H) Northampton Town W 2-1 Details


6 (a) Nottingham Forest D 0-0 Details
13 (H) Nottingham Forest W 7-0 Details
20 (a) Walsall W 2-1 Details
25 (H) Walsall W 4-3 Details

Second Football League North 

27 (H) Chester* W 2-1 Details


3 (a) Chester* W 3-1 Details
10 (a) Blackpool* L 1-6 Details
17 (H) Blackpool* W 1-0 Details
31 (a) Everton* L 1-2 Details


7 (a) Wrexham* W 3-0 Details
14 (H) Wrexham* W 4-1 Details
21 (H) Manchester City* L 1-3 Details
28 (H) Services Match* Details
28 (a) Manchester City* L 1-4 Details


7 (H) Everton W* 11-1 Details
14 (H) RAF XI L 3-4 Details [Friendly]
21 (a) Rotax Cyftha W 9-1 Details [Friendly]
28 (H) Birmingham L 0-3 Details [Friendly]


4 (H) Chester W 3-1 Details [LC1/1]
6 (a) Chester W 1-0 Details [LC1/2]
11 (a) Manchester United L 4-5 Details [LC2/1]
18 (H) Manchester United W 2-0 Details [LC2/2]
25 (H) Manchester City W 2-0 Details [LC3/1]


2 (a) Manchester City L 0-1 Details [LC3/2]
5 (H) Services Match Details
9 (a) West Bromwich Albion W 4-0 Details [LCsf/1]
16 (H) West Bromwich Albion W 3-0 Details [LCsf/2]
23 (a) Sunderland D 2-2 Details [LCf/1]
30 (H) Sunderland W 4-1 Details [LCf/2]


6 (N) Brentford D 1-1 Details [Challenge Match]